## K-15016/157/2015-SC-I (Vol. II) Government of India

Ministry of Urban Development

Nirman Bhawan, New Delhi Dated: May 25, 2016

## **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

Subject: Inclusion of 11 cities to participate in the All India Competition (Stage 2) of the Smart City Challenge process.

The Competent Authority has approved for inclusion of the following 11 new cities to participate in the All India Competition of the Smart City Challenge Process: -

S. N.	Name of State	Name of the City
1.	Jammu & Kashmir	Jammu
2.	Jammu & Kashmir	Srinagar
3.	Uttar Pradesh	Meerut
4.	Uttar Pradesh	Rae Bareli
5.	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
6.	Bihar	Patna
7.	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
8.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
9.	Karnataka	Bangalore
10.	Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati
11.	Chattisgarh	Naya Raipur

2. Inclusion of aforesaid 11 new cities is subject to the following conditions: -

- i) No additional financial implications;
- ii) Cities have to be recommended by the State Level High Powered Steering Committee (HPSC), if not done so already;
- iii) Amaravati and Naya Raipur will have to comply with Mission Guidelines before they can participate; and
- iv) The number of Smart Cities declared after various rounds of challenge process will strictly be in terms of allocation made to States/UTs as given in Annexure 2 of the Mission Guidelines.

(Sanjay Sharma) Under Secretary to the Government of India Tel. – 23062908

То

- 1. Apex Committee Members: -
  - Secretary, Housing and Poverty Alleviation i)

  - ii) Secretary (Expenditure)iii) Joint Secretary & Financial Advisor, MoUD
  - iv) Director, National Institute of Urban Planning,
  - v) Chief Planner, Town and Country Planning
  - vi) Principal Secretary (UD) State Government of Madhya Pradesh
  - vii) Principal Secretary (UD) State Government of Gujarat
  - viii) Principal Secretary (UD) State Government of Andhra Pradesh
  - ix) Additional Secretary (Smart Cities) & National Mission Director
- 2. Respective Chief Secretaries/Principal Secretaries (UD)/ Municipal Commissioners